Pastor Samaritano

Mensaje para Casa del Lago
15 – 16 de Febrero 2017
Texto:  Juan 4:13-15

Historia da forma a la vida. Historia moldea nuestra vida. Hay muchas historias, mitos, y leyendas, pero quiero que veamos como la historia verdadera de las buenas nuevas de Jesucristo da forma a nuestras vidas.

Story shapes life. Story forms our life. There are many stories, myths, and legends, but I want us to see how the true story of the good news of Jesus Christ shapes our life.

Para hacer esto voy a conectar una experiencia personal con una historia del Evangelio de San Juan, capitulo 4.

To do that I will connect a personal experience with a story from the Gospel of John, chapter 4.

Hace poco, me occurio asi.

A short time, this happened to me.

Era Noviembre. Tarde, nublado, ventoso y frío. Mi carro estaba bajo de gasolina, y yo me sentia medio perdido y un poco desorientado. Andaba en Dallas ahi por el zoologico. Tenia prisa porque mi hija tenia un partido de basket y yo queria llegar a tiempo sin quedarme atrapado en el tráfico. Así que decidi abandonar mis que haceres y me metí en una gasolinera.

It was November. Late afternoon, cloudy, windy, and cold. I was low on gas, feeling sorta lost and strange, and needed a coffee fix. And I was trying to hurry or else I would get stuck in traffic and be late to my daughter’s basketball game. So I gave up my quest and pulled into a gas station.

Cuando llegué vi a una mujer apenitas saliendo del baño público al lado de la estación. Era una homeless – una de los que no tienen hogar y viven en la calle. Ella trató de hacerme señas, pero fingí ignorarla. Yo la había visto antes y no tenía tiempo de meterme con ella. Así que me dirigí a una bomba en el otro extremo de la estación y me baje del carro.

As soon as I pulled in I saw a woman step out of the public restroom on the side of the station. She appeared to be a homeless woman. She tried to flag me down, but I pretended to ignore her. I had seen her kind before and I didn’t have time to mess with her. So I drove around to a pump on the far side of the station and got out of my car.

Fue en ese momento que me di cuenta de que alguien estaba hablando conmigo. Esa mujer se dirigía hacia mi medio-gritando.

That’s when I realized that someone was talking to me. That woman was heading my way and sorta yelling.

Ella estaba muy sucia. Su ropa no encajaba. Sus zapatos no coincidían. Tenía los dientes manchados. Tenía el pelo enmarañado.

She was filthy. Her clothes did not fit. Her shoes did not match. Her teeth were stained. Her hair was matted.

De una corta distancia ella dijo “Hola” y me preguntó si podía ayudarme a bombear la gasolina. Le dije, “No, gracias” y me volvi sin hacerle contacto visual.

A short distance away she said “Hello” and asked if she could pump the gas for me. I said, “No Thank You” and turned away without making eye contact.

Luego me dijo que lo que realmente quería – solamente unos pocos dólares o monedas sueltos. Le pregunté por qué lo necesitaba y me dijo que estaba tratando de juntar dinero para pagar la renta en un motel por una noche más. Luego procedió a decir cómo su casa se había quemado y cómo su familia ya no le ayudaría porque … deje de escucharle … pero la gente en el motel … todavía no escuchaba … pero nada de eso importaba de todos modos … todavía no escuchaba … porque “Dios es bueno y yo sé que me ama”. Eso me llamo la atencion.

Then she said that all she really wanted was a few dollars or some loose change. I asked why she needed it and she told me that she was trying to gather enough money to pay for her motel room for one more night. Then she proceeded to tell how her house had burned down and how her family wouldn’t help her because … I sorta quit listening … but the people at the motel … still not really listening … but none of that mattered anyways … still not listening … because “God is good and I know he loves me.”

Yo ya estaba agotado emocionalmente por algunas circunstancias personales que me pasaban en aquellos dias, y yo estaba empezando a sentir muy mal de humor. En un dado momento ella estaba empezando a molestarme. Así que me voltí hacia ella y le pregunté a ver si su casa realmente se quemaba, o si ella estaba realmente sin hogar, o si realmente necesitaba dinero para un motel.

I was already emotionally wasted due to some personal circumstances I was experiencing in those days, and I was starting to feel pretty cranky. At this point she was really starting to annoy me. So I turned towards her and asked if her house really burned down, and if she was really homeless, and if she really needed money for a motel.

Ella dijo “Sí” y que no le importaba si yo no creía su historia. Y sonrió de oreja a oreja.

She said “Yes” and that it didn’t matter to her if I believed her story or not. And she smiled from ear to ear.

No sé cómo te la imaginas, pero apuesto a que nunca imaginarías que era una mujer chaparrita, con un rostro pálido, ojos verdes, pelo rubio, dientes amarillos. Era bien güerra a como algunos de ustedes.

I don’t know how you imagine her, but I bet you would never imagine that she was a short woman with a pale face, green eyes, red hair, and yellow teeth. She was as white as some of you.

Ojalá pudieras haberla visto mirándome con esa gran sonrisa en su rostro mugriento. Ahí es cuando la vi realmente, y cuando realmente la vi como una persona verdadera. Y la vi como si fuera una angel del cielo.

I wish you could have seen her staring up at me with that big smile on her grimy face. That’s when I saw her, and really saw her as a real person. And she was like an angel from heaven.

Decidí aprovechar al máximo la conversación, así que le pregunté su nombre. “Es Tracy.” Le pregunté cuánto tiempo llevaba sin hogar y si tenía hijos y qué edad tenía. Dijo 46 años, pero le dije que parecía más joven.

I decided to make the most of the conversation, so I asked her name. It is Tracy. I asked how long she had been homeless and whether she had kids and how old she was. She said 46, but I said she seemed younger.

Mientras conversábamos comencé a ver a Tracy como la mujer samaritana en el evangelio de Juan 4. Una mujer aislada, solita, quebrantada. Una persona que tenia necesidad de agua viva.

As we chatted I started to see Tracy as a Samaritan woman en John 4. A woman who was isolated, alone, and broken. A person who needed living water.

Así que hice lo que pastores hacen en situaciones como esa: Yo me puse en a “modo de Jesús” – es decir, me puse la mascara de Jesus como para su rescatarla, como si yo fuera un Salvador.

So I did what pastors do in situations like that: I slipped into “Jesus-mode” – I put on my Jesus mask so I could help rescue her, as if I were a savior.

Entonces le pregunté si realmente creía en Dios. Ella dijo: “Sí, por supuesto. Yo estoy bien puesto en Juan 3:16 y Efesios 6:10. “Y yo dije:” ¿Qué significa eso? ¿Son esas referencias a las Escrituras? “Ella dijo que Sí y yo le dije,” ¿Sabes lo que dicen? “Y procedió a citarlas textualmente, junto con varias otras. Y me dijo por qué significaban tanto para ella.

Then I asked if she truly believed in God. She said, “Yes of course. I stand on John 3:16 and Ephesians 6:10.” And I said, “What does that even mean? Are those scripture references?” She said, “Yeah” and I said, “Do you even know what they say?” And she proceeded to quote them verbatim, along with several others. And she told me why they meant so much to her.

Y yo le dije: “¿Por qué crees en alguien que te dice que te quiere tanto, pero deja que tu familia te rechace y tu casa se quema y que te deja sin hogar?” Y ella dijo: “Por todo lo que ha hecho por mí”. Dije: “¿Como qué?” Y ella dijo: “Para empezar, envió a su Hijo a morir en la cruz por mis pecados. Por eso yo sé que me ama.

And I said, “Why would you believe in someone who claims to love you, yet lets your family reject you and your house burn down and leaves you homeless.” And she said, “Because of everything he has done for me.” And I said, “Like what?” And she said, “For starters, he sent his Son to die on the cross for my sins. And that’s how I know he loves me.”

Y pregunté: “¿Quién es su Hijo?” Y ella dijo: “Jesús.”

And I asked, “Who is his Son?” And she said, “Jesus.”

Y antes de que pudiera hacerle más preguntas, ella agarró mi mano y me preguntó a mi, “¿Y tú? ¿Crees que Jesús vino a morir por ti? ¿Crees que Dios te ama? ”

And before I could ask any more questions she grabbed my hand and asked, “What about you? Do you believe Jesus came to die for you? Do you believe God loves you?”

Eso me sacó la onda. Después de todo, yo ya estaba teniendo un terrible, horrible, no bueno, muy mal día. Estaba pensando en muchas cosas malas y me preguntaba dónde estaba Dios en mis circumstancias.

That took me off guard. After all, I was having a terrible, horrible, no good very bad day. I was thinking about lots of bad things and wondering where God was in my circumstances.

Y su pregunta me molestó porque me di cuenta en ese momento de que ella habia cambiado la situación totalmente. Se suponía que en esta drama yo debía jugar el rol de Jesús; Y se suponía que ella debía jugar el rol a la mujer samaritana! Pero ella volteó el guión en mi.

And her question bothered me because I knew she had just turned the tables on me. I was supposed to play Jesus; and she was supposed to play the Samaritan woman! She flipped the script.

Ella me miraba, esperando una respuesta. Sus ojos verdes perforaron mi alma, y su sonrisa amarilla derritió mi corazón.

She stared at me and waited for an answer. Her green eyes pierced my soul, and her yellow smile melted my heart.

Mi corazon fue compujido y por fin le dije: “Sí, Tracy, creo todas esas cosas. De hecho, yo soy un pastor. Yo estaba bromiando contigo para ver si realmente creías tu todas esas cosas.

I was cut to the heart and said, “Yes, Tracy, I do believe all those things. In fact, I am a pastor. I was just messing with you to see if you really believed all those things.”

“Y ella soltó mi mano y dio un paso atrás y dijo:” ¡Ay! Que mala onda.”

And she let go of my hand and stepped back and said, “Oh! Well that wasn’t very nice.”

Me sentí avergonzado por haber hecho todo eso, especialmente con tanto en juego.

I felt ashamed for doing that, especially with so much at stake.

Luego sonrió otra vez.

Then she smiled again.

Le pide disculpas y le dije gracias por haberme rastreado, molestado, y por haberme hecho recordar el amor de Dios. Sobre todo por haberme señalado hacia a Jesús nuevamente.

I apologized and thanked her for tracking me down, and hassling me, and for reminding me about God’s love, and pointing me back to Jesus.

Ella se encogió de hombros y sonrió como si no fuera gran cosa. Pero sabía en mi corazón que lo era. Tracy me había pedido algo que yo no daría. Y ella me dio algo que no guardaría para sí misma. El don de la gracia.

She just shrugged her shoulders and smiled as if it were no big deal. But I knew in my heart that it was. Tracy had asked me for something I would not give. And she gave me something she would not keep to herself. The gift of grace.

Al final, me ofrecí a orar por ella con una condición: que ella orara por mí.

In the end, I offered to pray for her on one condition — that she pray for me.

Así que, ella inclinó su cabeza y dobló sus manos agrietadas y oró por mí.

So, she bowed her head and folded her chapped hands and prayed for me.

Despues yo puse mis manos en su cabeza y le pedí al Señor que la bendijera y la mantuviera, y que hiciera su Cara brillar sobre ella y darle la paz.

Then I laid my hands on her head and asked the Lord to bless her and keep her, and to make his face shine upon her and give her peace.

Entonces le di unas monedas y un poco de efectivo y deseba a Dios que fuese más.

Then I gave her some loose change and petty cash and wished to God it had been more.

Mientras conducía lejos las lágrimas llenaron mis ojos. En su tierna misericordia y cuidado providencial, el Señor envió a una mujer corta, sucia y sin hogar para que me contara la historia de Jesús. Para llenar mi corazón vacío de agua viva. Para hacerme recordar que todavía soy un samaritano, no un Salvador. Y que todavía necesito un Salvador porque soy un picador debil.

As I drove away tears filled my eyes. In his tender mercy and providential care the Lord sent a short, dirty, homeless woman to tell me the story of Jesus. To fill my empty heart with living water. To remind me that I am a Samaritan, not a savior. That I still need a Savor because I am still a weak sinner.

Asi es el misterio del espiritu de gracia que obra en la vida cotidiana. Pase que pase Dios esta contigo. Cuando tu tanque spiritual esta vacio Dios te provee mensajeros para hacerte recordar que todavia te ama.

Such is the mystery of the spirit of grace that is at work in our daily life. Whatever happens God is with you. When you spiritual tank is empty, God sends messengers to help you remember that he still loves you.

Todos necesitamos a Dios. Y solo Dios puede suplir esa necesidad. Como dijo Jesus, “pero el que beba del agua que yo le daré no volverá a tener sed jamás, sino que dentro de él esa agua se convertirá en un manantial del que brotará vida eterna.”

Everyone needs God and only God can fill that need. As Jesus said, “Whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

¿Como se hace para recibir el agua viva? Es facil. Si tienes sed en tu alma, en tu corazon, solo hay que pedirsela con fe. Señor, dame de esa agua.

How do you get that water? It’s easy. If you have thirst in your soul, in your heart, just ask him for a drink by faith. “Lord, give me this water.”

Y el te dara el don del Espiritu Santo y llenarte con vida eterna.

And he will give you the gift of the Holy Spirit and fill you with eternal life.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑