Abide in my Love

Christ Covenant Church
Jon Marq Toombs
8 November 2016 / Ordinary Time
John 15:9-12

Notes from the Cutting Room Floor

ABIDE IN MY LOVE

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full. This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.” (John 15:9-12)

Jesus the True Vine, disciples are the Branches.

The True Vine loves fruitful branches the way the Father loves him –-  with a deep-dwelling eternal love.

The True Vine commands the branches first to abide in his love (vertical union) and then to love another (horizontal communion) as he loved them –- with sacrifice and service in life and in death.

The True Vine shows the branches that true love is demonstrated by keeping God’s commands –- to love God is to obey God; to obey God is to love God. There is no such thing as disobedient love or hateful obedience.

The True Vine tells us the reason he teaches these things is to instill his joy, not to induce sorrow in his disciples. Disobedience always leads to sorrow. Obedient love leads to permanent joy.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑