Tear Jar

In John 11:35-44, Jesus wept outside the tomb of Lazarus, and his tears were not lost on God or man. He prayed to his Father and rejoiced that he was heard. Then he called Lazarus to come out of death into life, and death and sin fled from him. Jesus trusted God alone, and he did not fear the death threats of the Jews.

This emotionally charged narrative may be expressed poetically in the words of Psalm 56:8-11.

You have kept count of my tossings;
put my tears in your bottle.
Are they not in your book?
Then my enemies will turn back in the day when I call.
This I know, that God is for me.
In God, whose word I praise,
in the LORD, whose word I praise,
in God I trust; I shall not be afraid.
What can man do to me?

(The psalm also expresses the deep prayers of Christ in the garden of Gethsemane, in the shadows of the crucifixion and in the light of the resurrection.)

On a side note, Harry Potter fans might be interested in tracing out the connections between tears, memories, and story.

Spoiler Alert:

Take the deeply moving scene of Professor Snape desperately inviting Harry to capture his tears in a bottle and take them to the pensieve. There Harry learns that Snape’s tears are the keys that unlock the mysteries of the story. They revealed the deepest secrets of his loyal heart; and the untold true story of his heroic life.

Likewise, the tears of Christ unveil the secrets of the Story of the gospel: God in the flesh is for you — despite some appearances to the contrary.

Pensieve Tears Bottle.png

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑