Worship Order

Covenant Renewal Worship
7 August 2016
Ordinary Time
Lord’s Day 32

Bible Classes/Escuela Dominical – 4pm + Worship/Culto de Adoracion – 5pm

“These things are written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.” – (John 20:31 ESV)

Call to Worship | God Gathers His Church

– Psalm 95

Welcome, Scripture Reading, and Prayers – Psalm / Salmos 28

To you, O LORD, I call;
Our rock, be not deaf to us, lest, if you be silent,
We become like those who go down to the pit.
Hear the voice of our pleas for mercy, when we cry to you for help,
          when we lift up our hands toward your most holy sanctuary.
Do not drag us off with the wicked, with the workers of evil,
who speak peace with their neighbors while evil is in their hearts.
Blessed be the LORD!
           For he has heard the voice of our pleas for mercy.
The LORD is our strength and our shield;
            in him our heart trusts, and we are helped;
our heart exults, and with our songs we give thanks to him.
The LORD is the strength of his people; he is the saving refuge of his anointed.
Oh, save your people and bless your heritage!
Be their shepherd and carry them forever.

A ti clamo, Señor, roca mía;
no te desentiendas de mí, porque si guardas silencio,
ya puedo contarme entre los muertos.
Oye mi voz suplicante cuando a ti acudo en busca de ayuda,
    cuando tiendo los brazos hacia tu lugar santísimo.
No me arrastres con los malvados, con los que hacen iniquidad,
con los que hablan de paz con su prójimo pero en su corazón albergan maldad.
Bendito sea el Señor,
    que ha oído mi voz suplicante.
El Señor es mi fuerza y mi escudo;
   mi corazón en él confía; de él recibo ayuda.
   Mi corazón salta de alegría, y con cánticos le daré gracias.
El Señor es la fortaleza de su pueblo,
y un baluarte de salvación para su ungido.
Salva a tu pueblo, bendice a tu heredad, y cual pastor guíalos por siempre.

Invocation / Invocación

– Pass Me Not, O Gentle Savior

Confession of Sins | God Forgives His People

Minister: The gospel calls us to turn away from sin and be faithful to Christ. As we offer ourselves to him in penitence and faith, we renew our confidence and trust in his mercy. (Be seated)

Ministro: El Evangelio nos llama a abandonar el pecado y ser fieles a Cristo. A medida que nos ofrecemos a él con fe y arrepentimiento, renovamos nuestra confianza en su misericordia. (Sentados.)

C: Father eternal, giver of light and grace, we have sinned against you and against our neighbor, in what we have thought, in what we have said and done, through ignorance, through weakness, through our own deliberate fault. We have wounded your love and marred your image in us. We are sorry and ashamed, and repent of all our sins. For the sake of your Son Jesus Christ, who died for us, forgive us all that is past; and lead us out from darkness to walk as children of light. Amen.

C: Padre eterno, dador de luz y de gracia, hemos pecado contra ti y contra nuestro vecino, en lo que hemos pensado, en lo que hemos dicho y hecho, por ignorancia, por debilidad, por nuestra culpa deliberada. Hemos herido su amor y empañado su imagen en nosotros. Lo sentimos mucho y nos avergonzamos, y nos arrepentirnos de todos nuestros pecados. Por el bien de tu Hijo Jesucristo, que murió por nosotros, que nos perdone todo los pecados del pasado; y que nos saque de la oscuridad para que caminemos como hijos de luz. Amén. 

Silent prayer/Orar en silencio

Assurance of Pardon / Seguridad de Perdón –

M: May almighty God, who sent his Son into the world to save sinners, bring you his pardon and peace, now an for ever. Amen.

M: Que el Dios omnipotente, que envió a su Hijo al mundo para salvar a los pecadores, lograr que el perdón y la paz, ahora y por siempre. Amén.

– Guide Me O Thou Great Jehovah

– Help My Unbelief*

**Little Children 3 and under may go to Bible Class. / Sermón en español en Salon Adult 6.

Consecration | God Equips His Church

Scripture Reading and Prayer – (from Ezekiel 34)

The word of the LORD came to me: “Son of man, prophesy against the shepherds of Israel; prophesy, and say to them, even to the shepherds, Thus says the Lord GOD: Ah, shepherds of Israel who have been feeding yourselves! Should not shepherds feed the sheep? You eat the fat, you clothe yourselves with the wool, you slaughter the fat ones, but you do not feed the sheep. The weak you have not strengthened, the sick you have not healed, the injured you have not bound up, the strayed you have not brought back, the lost you have not sought, and with force and harshness you have ruled them. So they were scattered, because there was no shepherd, and they became food for all the wild beasts. Therefore, you shepherds, hear the word of the LORD: As I live, declares the Lord GOD, surely because my sheep have become a prey, and my sheep have become food for all the wild beasts, since there was no shepherd, and because my shepherds have not searched for my sheep, but the shepherds have fed themselves, and have not fed my sheep, therefore, you shepherds, hear the word of the LORD: Thus says the Lord GOD, Behold, I am against the shepherds, and I will require my sheep at their hand and put a stop to their feeding the sheep. No longer shall the shepherds feed themselves. I will rescue my sheep from their mouths, that they may not be food for them. For thus says the Lord GOD: Behold, I, I myself will search for my sheep and will seek them out. As a shepherd seeks out his flock when he is among his sheep that have been scattered, so will I seek out my sheep, and I will rescue them from all places where they have been scattered on a day of clouds and thick darkness. And I will bring them out from the peoples and gather them from the countries, and will bring them into their own land. And I will feed them on the mountains of Israel, by the ravines, and in all the inhabited places of the country. I will feed them with good pasture, and on the mountain heights of Israel shall be their grazing land. There they shall lie down in good grazing land, and on rich pasture they shall feed on the mountains of Israel. I myself will be the shepherd of my sheep, and I myself will make them lie down, declares the Lord GOD. I will seek the lost, and I will bring back the strayed, and I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak, and the fat and the strong I will destroy. I will feed them in justice. And I will judge between sheep and sheep. And I will set up over them one shepherd, my servant David, and he shall feed them: he shall feed them and be their shepherd. And I, the LORD, will be their God, and my servant David shall be prince among them. I am the LORD; I have spoken.

Collect: Grant to us, Lord, we pray, the spirit to think and do always those things that are right, that we, who cannot exist without you, may by you be enabled to live according to your will; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen. (Proper 14)

Sermon: Jesus the Good Shepherd (John 10:1-21 ESV) – Bo Cogbill  

“Truly, truly, I say to you, he who does not enter the sheepfold by the door but climbs in by another way, that man is a thief and a robber. But he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. To him the gatekeeper opens. The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.” This figure of speech Jesus used with them, but they did not understand what he was saying to them. So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. All who came before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd, who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. He flees because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep. I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep. And I have other sheep that are not of this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock, one shepherd. For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life that I may take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father.” There was again a division among the Jews because of these words. Many of them said, “He has a demon, and is insane; why listen to him?” Others said, “These are not the words of one who is oppressed by a demon. Can a demon open the eyes of the blind?” 

Pastoral Prayer – from Psalm 23

The LORD is our shepherd; we shall not want. He makes us lie down in green pastures. He leads us beside still waters. He restores our soul. He leads us in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Even though we walk through the valley of the shadow of death, we will fear no evil, for you are with us; your rod and your staff, they comfort us. You prepare a table before us in the presence of our enemies; you anoint our head with oil; our cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow us all the days of our life, and we shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever. Amen.

– House of God Forever (Psalm 23)**

**Little children return to during this song. Toda la congregación vuelve a reunirse durante este canto.

Confession of Faith | God Sustains His People –

Congregation Recites – The Apostles’ Creed

I believe in God the Father,
Almighty Maker of heaven and earth,
and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord:
Who was conceived of the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried.
He descended into death;
The third day He arose again from the dead.
He ascended into heaven
and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty,
whence He shall come to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy *catholic church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and life everlasting. Amen

Communion | God Nourishes His Church

– Man of Sorrows

If you have been baptized into Christ, and trust Him as your only hope for Salvation, and are a member in good standing at any Christian church, then you are invited to eat and drink with God’s family.

Si Ud ha sido bautizado en Cristo y confia en él como su unica esperanza para salvacion, y es miembro sano en una iglesia Cristiana, Ud esta invitado a comer y beber con la familia de Dios.

Communion Meditation and Prayer — Revelation / Apocalipsis 7:14-17, 10

Minister: I looked, and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands.

“These clothed in white robes are the ones coming out of great tribulation. They have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.

Therefore they are before the throne of God,
and serve him day and night in his temple;
and he who sits on the throne will shelter them with his presence.
They shall hunger no more, neither thirst anymore;
the sun shall not strike them, nor any scorching heat.

For the Lamb in the midst of the throne will be their shepherd,
and he will guide them to springs of living water,
and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

 C: “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!”

Ministro: Después de esto miré, y apareció una multitud tomada de todas las naciones, tribus, pueblos y lenguas; era tan grande que nadie podía contarla. Estaban de pie delante del trono y del Cordero, vestidos de túnicas blancas y con ramas de palma en la mano. —

Esos que están vestidos de blanco son los que están saliendo de la gran tribulación; han lavado y blanqueado sus túnicas en la sangre del Cordero.

Por eso, están delante del trono de Dios,
y día y noche le sirven en su templo;
y el que está sentado en el trono
les dará refugio en su santuario.
Ya no sufrirán hambre ni sed.
No los abatirá el sol ni ningún calor abrasador.
Porque el Cordero que está en el trono los pastoreará
y los guiará a fuentes de agua viva;
y Dios les enjugará toda lágrima de sus ojos.

C: «¡La salvación es de nuestro Dios, sentado en el trono, y del Cordero!»

[Interlude]

Offerings and Thanksgiving/Ofrendas e Acción de Gracias — Malachi 3:10

Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the Lord of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.

Traigan íntegro el diezmo para los fondos del templo, y así habrá alimento en mi casa. Pruébenme en esto —dice el SeñorTodopoderoso—, y vean si no abro las compuertas del cielo y derramo sobre ustedes bendición hasta que sobreabunde.

Prayers/Oraciónes

– Your Grace is Enough

Commission | God Sends His Church — (Hebrews 13:20-21)

Benediction: May the God of peace who brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great shepherd of the sheep, by the blood of the eternal covenant, equip you with everything good that you may do his will, working in us that which is pleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen.

 Bendición: Que el Dios de paz, que levantó de entre los muertos al gran Pastor de las ovejas, a nuestro Señor Jesús, por la sangre del pacto eterno; que él los capacite en todo lo bueno para hacer su voluntad. y que, por medio de Jesucristo, que Dios cumpla en nosotros lo que le agrada. A él sea la gloria por los siglos de los siglos. Amén.

– Doxology

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑