Worship Order

Covenant Renewal Worship
Lord’s Day 30
24 July 2016
Ordinary Time

Bible Study/Estudio Biblico – 4 pm   +   Worship/Culto de Adoración – 5 pm

New Location: 2850 East Glen  Mesquite, Texas 75181

“These things are written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.” (John 20:31 ESV)

CALL TO WORSHIP | God Gathers His People

All Creatures of our God and King

Scripture Reading and Invocation / Lectura y Invocación – 

Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!
    We bless you from the house of the Lord.
The Lord is God,
    and he has made his light to shine upon us.
You are my God, and I will give thanks to you;

    you are my God; I will extol you.
Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
    for his steadfast love endures forever! Psalm 118:26-29

Bendito el que viene en el nombre del Señor.
    Desde la casa del Señor los bendecimos.
El Señor es Dios
y nos ilumina.
Tú eres mi Dios, por eso te doy gracias;

    tú eres mi Dios, por eso te exalto.

Den gracias al Señor, porque él es bueno;
    su gran amor perdura para siempre.

Psalm 51 Create in Me a Clean Heart

CONFESSION OF SINS God Forgives His People

Minister:  The gospel calls us to turn away from sin and be faithful to Christ. As we offer ourselves to him in penitence and faith, we renew our confidence and trust in his mercy.(Be seated)

Ministro: El Evangelio nos llama a abandonar el pecado y ser fieles a Cristo. A medida que nos ofrecemos a él con fe y arrepentimiento, renovamos nuestra confianza en su misericordia. (Sentados)

C: Almighty God, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, maker of all things, judge of all people, we acknowledge and lament our many sins and the wickedness we have committed time after time, by thought, word and deed against your divine majesty.
We have provoked your righteous anger and your indignation against us. We earnestly repent, and are deeply sorry for these our wrongdoings; the memory of them weighs us down, the burden of them is too great for us to bear. Have mercy upon us, have mercy upon us, most merciful Father. For your Son our Lord Jesus Christ’s sake, forgive us all that is past; and grant that from this time forward we may always serve and please you in newness of life, to the honour and glory of your name; through Jesus Christ our Lord.
Amen.

C:  Dios Todopoderoso, Padre de nuestro Señor Jesucristo, creador de todas las cosas, el juez de todas las personas, reconocemos y lamentamos nuestros muchos pecados y la maldad que han cometido una y otra vez, por el pensamiento, palabra y acción en contra de su divina majestad. Hemos provocado su ira justa y su indignación contra nosotros. Nos arrepentimos sinceramente, y lo sentimos mucho por nuestras malas acciones. La memoria de ellos nos pesa, y la carga de ellos es demasiado grande, y no podemos aguantarlos. Ten piedad de nosotros, ten piedad de nosotros, Padre misericordioso. Por el bien de tu Hijo, nuestro Señor Jesucristo, que nos perdones todos nuestros pecados del pasado; y dejes que de ahora en adelante siempre podemos servir y agradecerte en novedad de vida, al honor y la gloria de tu nombre; por medio de Jesucristo nuestro Señor oramos. Amén. 

Silent prayer/Orar en silencio

Assurance of Pardon / Seguridad de Perdón – 

M: May almighty God, who sent his Son into the world to save sinners, bring you his pardon and peace, now and for ever. Amen.

M: Que el Dios omnipotente, que envió a su Hijo al mundo para salvar a los pecadores,
lograr que el perdón y la paz, ahora y por siempre. Amén.

– Great is Thy Faithfulness / Oh Tu Fidelidad 
– Abide with Me *

* Little children 3 and under may go to Bible Class. Sermon en Español en salon Adult C.

CONSECRATION | God Equips His People

Scripture Reading and Prayer —

If a prophet or a dreamer of dreams arises among you and gives you a sign or a wonder, and the sign or wonder that he tells you comes to pass, and if he says, ‘Let us go after other gods,’ which you have not known, ‘and let us serve them,’ you shall not listen to the words of that prophet or that dreamer of dreams. For the LORD your God is testing you, to know whether you love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul. You shall walk after the LORD your God and fear him and keep his commandments and obey his voice, and you shall serve him and hold fast to him. But that prophet or that dreamer of dreams shall be put to death, because he has taught rebellion against the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt and redeemed you out of the house of slavery, to make you leave the way in which the LORD your God commanded you to walk. So you shall purge the evil from your midst. (Deuteronomy 13:1-5 ESV)

Collect. O God, the protector of all who trust in you, without whom nothing is strong, nothing is holy: Increase and multiply upon us your mercy; that, with you as our ruler and guide, we may so pass through things temporal, that we lose not the things eternal;
through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

Sermon – True Stories Shape Life — John 8:31-58

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” They answered him, “We are offspring of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How is it that you say, ‘You will become free’?” Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who practices sin is a slave to sin. The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son remains forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. I know that you are offspring of Abraham; yet you seek to kill me because my word finds no place in you. I speak of what I have seen with my Father, and you do what you have heard from your father.” They answered him, “Abraham is our father.” Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would be doing the works Abraham did, but now you seek to kill me, a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God. This is not what Abraham did. You are doing the works your father did.” They said to him, “We were not born of sexual immorality. We have one Father—even God.” Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and I am here. I came not of my own accord, but he sent me. Why do you not understand what I say? It is because you cannot bear to hear my word. You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies. But because I tell the truth, you do not believe me. Which one of you convicts me of sin? If I tell the truth, why do you not believe me? Whoever is of God hears the words of God. The reason why you do not hear them is that you are not of God.” The Jews answered him, “Are we not right in saying that you are a Samaritan and have a demon?” Jesus answered, “I do not have a demon, but I honor my Father, and you dishonor me. Yet I do not seek my own glory; there is One who seeks it, and he is the judge. Truly, truly, I say to you, if anyone keeps my word, he will never see death.” The Jews said to him, “Now we know that you have a demon! Abraham died, as did the prophets, yet you say, ‘If anyone keeps my word, he will never taste death.’ Are you greater than our father Abraham, who died? And the prophets died! Who do you make yourself out to be?” Jesus answered, “If I glorify myself, my glory is nothing. It is my Father who glorifies me, of whom you say, ‘He is our God.’ But you have not known him. I know him. If I were to say that I do not know him, I would be a liar like you, but I do know him and I keep his word. Your father Abraham rejoiced that he would see my day. He saw it and was glad.” So the Jews said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have you seen Abraham?” Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.” So they picked up stones to throw at him, but Jesus hid himself and went out of the temple. (ESV)

Pastoral Prayer: Based on Psalm 25 (NLT)

Lord, I give my life to you. I trust in you, my God! Do not let me be disgraced, or let my enemies rejoice in my defeat. No one who trusts in you will ever be disgraced, but disgrace comes to those who try to deceive others. Show me the right path, O Lord; point out the road for me to follow. Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you. Remember, O Lord, your compassion and unfailing love, which you have shown from long ages past. Do not remember the rebellious sins of my youth. Remember me in the light of your unfailing love, for you are merciful, O LordThe Lord is good and does what is right; he shows the proper path to those who go astray. He leads the humble in doing right, teaching them his way. The Lord leads with unfailing love and faithfulness all who keep his covenant and obey his demands. Amen


– Whate’er My God Ordains is Right

** Kids return to worship during this song. / Toda la congregación vuelve a reunirse durante este canto.

CONFESSION OF FAITH | God Sustains His People –

Congregation Recites – The Apostles’ Creed

I believe in God the Father,
Almighty Maker of heaven and earth,
and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord:
Who was conceived of the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried.
He descended into death;
The third day He arose again from the dead.
He ascended into heaven
and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty,
whence He shall come to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy *catholic church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and life everlasting. Amen

– Before the Throne of God Above

COMMUNION | God Nourishes His People

Scripture Reading and Prayer /  Lectura y Oración – 

If you have been baptized into Christ, and trust Him as your only hope for Salvation, and are a member in good standing at any Christian church, then you are invited to come forward and partake of the elements at Christ’s invitation. 

Si Ud ha sido bautizado en Cristo y confia en él como su unica esperanza para salvacion, y es miembro sano en una iglesia Cristiana, Ud puede pasar al frente y participar en la santa cena del Señor a la invitación de Cristo.

Scripture Reading and Prayer —

My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world. And by this we know that we have come to know him, if we keep his commandments. Whoever says “I know him” but does not keep his commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in him, but whoever keeps his word, in him truly the love of God is perfected. By this we may know that we are in him: whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked. 1 John 2:1-6

Mis queridos hijos, les escribo estas cosas para que no pequen. Pero si alguno peca, tenemos ante el Padre a un intercesor, a Jesucristo, el Justo. Él es el sacrificio por el perdón de nuestros pecados, y no sólo por los nuestros sino por los de todo el mundo. ¿Cómo sabemos si hemos llegado a conocer a Dios? Si obedecemos sus mandamientos. El que afirma: «Lo conozco», pero no obedece sus mandamientos, es un mentiroso y no tiene la verdad. En cambio, el amor de Dios se manifiesta plenamente en la vida del que obedece su palabra. De este modo sabemos que estamos unidos a él: el que afirma que permanece en él, debe vivir como él vivió. 1 John 2:1-6

[ Interlude ]

Offerings and Thanksgiving / Ofrendas e Acción de Gracias – 

Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the Lord of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need. Mal 3:10

Traigan íntegro el diezmo para los fondos del templo, y así habrá alimento en mi casa. Pruébenme en esto —dice el SeñorTodopoderoso—, y vean si no abro las compuertas del cielo y derramo sobre ustedes bendición hasta que sobreabunde.

– As You Go

COMMISSION | God Sends His People

Benediction: 

May God be gracious to us and bless us
    and make his face to shine upon us, Selah
that your way may be known on earth,
    your saving power among all nations.
Let the peoples praise you, O God;
    let all the peoples praise you! Psalm 67:1-3

Bendición:  

Dios nos tenga compasión y nos bendiga;
Dios haga resplandecer su rostro sobre nosotros,
para que se conozcan en la tierra sus caminos,
    y entre todas las naciones su salvación.
Que te alaben, oh Dios, los pueblos;
    que todos los pueblos te alaben.

– Doxology

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑