Worship Order

Covenant Renewal Worship
Lord’s Day 29
17 July 2016
Ordinary Time

Bible Study/Estudio Biblico – 4 pm   +   Worship/Culto de Adoración – 5 pm

New Location: 2850 East Glen  Mesquite, Texas 75181

“These things are written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.” (John 20:31 ESV)

CALL TO WORSHIP | God Gathers His People

O God of our Salvation

Scripture Reading and Invocation / Lectura y Invocación – John / Juan 4:23-24

The true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for the Father is seeking such people to worship him. God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.

Los verdaderos adoradores rendirán culto al Padre en espíritu y en verdad, porque así quiere el Padre que sean los que le adoren. Dios es espíritu, y quienes lo adoran deben hacerlo en espíritu y en verdad.

Be Thou My Vision

CONFESSION OF SINS God Forgives His People

Minister:  The gospel calls us to turn away from sin and be faithful to Christ. As we offer ourselves to him in penitence and faith, we renew our confidence and trust in his mercy.(Be seated)

Ministro: El Evangelio nos llama a abandonar el pecado y ser fieles a Cristo. A medida que nos ofrecemos a él con fe y arrepentimiento, renovamos nuestra confianza en su misericordia. (Sentados)

C: Father eternal, giver of light and grace, we have sinned against you and against our neighbor, in what we have thought, in what we have said and done, through ignorance, through weakness, through our own deliberate fault. We have wounded your love and marred your image in us. We are sorry and ashamed, and repent of all our sins. For the sake of your Son Jesus Christ, who died for us, forgive us all that is past; and lead us out from darkness to walk as children of light. Amen.

C: Padre eterno, dador de luz y de gracia, hemos pecado contra ti y contra nuestro vecino, en lo que hemos pensado, en lo que hemos dicho y hecho, por ignorancia, por debilidad, por nuestra culpa deliberada. Hemos herido su amor y empañado su imagen en nosotros. Lo sentimos mucho y nos avergonzamos, y nos arrepentirnos de todos nuestros pecados. Por el bien de tu Hijo Jesucristo, que murió por nosotros, que nos perdone todo los pecados del pasado; y que nos saque de la oscuridad para que caminemos como hijos de luz. Amén. 

Silent prayer/Orar en silencio

Assurance of Pardon / Seguridad de Perdón – 

M: May almighty God, who sent his Son into the world to save sinners, bring you his pardon and peace, now and for ever. Amen.

M: Que el Dios omnipotente, que envió a su Hijo al mundo para salvar a los pecadores,
lograr que el perdón y la paz, ahora y por siempre. Amén.

– Great is Thy Faithfulness / Oh Tu Fidelidad
– Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus*

* Little children 3 and under may go to Bible Class. Sermon en Español en salon Adult C.

CONSECRATION | God Equips His People

Scripture Reading and Prayer —

Arise, shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the LORD has risen upon you. For behold, darkness shall cover the earth, and thick darkness the peoples; but the LORD will arise upon you, and his glory will be seen upon you. And nations shall come to your light, and kings to the brightness of your rising. Lift up your eyes all around, and see; they all gather together, they come to you; your sons shall come from afar, and your daughters shall be carried on the hip. Then you shall see and be radiant; your heart shall thrill and exult, because…you shall know that I, the LORD, am your Savior and your Redeemer, the Mighty One of Jacob…I will make your overseers peace and your taskmasters righteousness. Violence shall no more be heard in your land, devastation or destruction within your borders; you shall call your walls Salvation, and your gates Praise. The sun shall no more be your light by day, nor for brightness shall the moon give you light; but the LORD will be your everlasting light, and your God will be your glory. Your sun shall no more go down, nor your moon withdraw itself; for the LORD will be your everlasting light, and your days of mourning shall be ended. Your people shall all be righteous; they shall possess the land forever, the branch of my planting, the work of my hands, that I might be glorified. The least one shall become a clan, and the smallest one a mighty nation; I am the LORD; in its time I will hasten it. (Isaiah 60:1-5, 16-22 ESV)

Collect. Almighty God, the fountain of all wisdom, you know our necessities before we ask and our ignorance in asking: Have compassion on our weakness, and mercifully give us those things which for our unworthiness we dare not, and for our blindness we cannot ask; through the worthiness of your Son Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen

Sermon – The Light of the World  John 8:12-30

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going. You judge according to the flesh; I judge no one. Yet even if I do judge, my judgment is true, for it is not I alone who judge, but I and the Father who sent me. In your Law it is written that the testimony of two people is true. I am the one who bears witness about myself, and the Father who sent me bears witness about me.” They said to him therefore, “Where is your Father?” Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” These words he spoke in the treasury, as he taught in the temple; but no one arrested him, because his hour had not yet come. So he said to them again, “I am going away, and you will seek me, and you will die in your sin. Where I am going, you cannot come.” So the Jews said, “Will he kill himself, since he says, ‘Where I am going, you cannot come’?” He said to them, “You are from below; I am from above. You are of this world; I am not of this world. I told you that you would die in your sins, for unless you believe that I am he you will die in your sins.” So they said to him, “Who are you?” Jesus said to them, “Just what I have been telling you from the beginning. I have much to say about you and much to judge, but he who sent me is true, and I declare to the world what I have heard from him.” They did not understand that he had been speaking to them about the Father. So Jesus said to them, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he, and that I do nothing on my own authority, but speak just as the Father taught me. And he who sent me is with me. He has not left me alone, for I always do the things that are pleasing to him.” As he was saying these things, many believed in him.

Pastoral Prayer:  Vindicate us, O God, and defend our cause against an ungodly people, from the deceitful and unjust man deliver us! For you are the God in whom we take refuge; why have you rejected us? Why do we go about mourning because of the oppression of the enemy? Send out your light and your truth; let them lead us; let them bring us to your holy hill and to your dwelling! Then we will go to the altar of God, to God our exceeding joy, and we will praise you with the stringed instruments, O God, our God. Why are you cast down, O soul, and why are you in turmoil within us? Hope in God; for we shall again praise him, our salvation and our God. (Based on Psalm 43 ESV)

– Lord, Let Your Light Shine on Us

** Kids return to worship during this song. / Toda la congregación vuelve a reunirse durante este canto.

CONFESSION OF FAITH | God Sustains His People –

Congregation Recites – The Apostles’ Creed

I believe in God the Father,
Almighty Maker of heaven and earth,
and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord:
Who was conceived of the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried.
He descended into death;
The third day He arose again from the dead.
He ascended into heaven
and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty,
whence He shall come to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy *catholic church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and life everlasting. Amen

– Let Your Blood Plead for Me

COMMUNION | God Nourishes His People

Scripture Reading and Prayer /  Lectura y Oración – 

If you have been baptized into Christ, and trust Him as your only hope for Salvation, and are a member in good standing at any Christian church, then you are invited to come forward and partake of the elements at Christ’s invitation. 

Si Ud ha sido bautizado en Cristo y confia en él como su unica esperanza para salvacion, y es miembro sano en una iglesia Cristiana, Ud puede pasar al frente y participar en la santa cena del Señor a la invitación de Cristo.

Scripture Reading and Prayer — 1 John / Juan 1:5-7

This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.

Éste es el mensaje que hemos oído de él y que les anunciamos: Dios es luz y en él no hay ninguna oscuridad. Si afirmamos que tenemos comunión con él, pero vivimos en la oscuridad, mentimos y no ponemos en práctica la verdad. Pero si vivimos en la luz, así como él está en la luz, tenemos comunión unos con otros, y la sangre de su Hijo Jesucristo nos limpia de todo pecado.

[ Interlude ]

Offerings and Thanksgiving / Ofrendas e Acción de Gracias – 

Two things I ask of you;
    deny them not to me before I die:
Remove far from me falsehood and lying;
    give me neither poverty nor riches;
    feed me with the food that is needful for me,
lest I be full and deny you
    and say, “Who is the Lord?”
or lest I be poor and steal
    and profane the name of my God. (Pro 30:7-9)

»Sólo dos cosas te pido, Señor;
    no me las niegues antes de que muera:
Aleja de mí la falsedad y la mentira;
    no me des pobreza ni riquezas
    sino sólo el pan de cada día.
Porque teniendo mucho, podría desconocerte
    y decir: “¿Y quién es el Señor?”
Y teniendo poco, podría llegar a robar
    y deshonrar así el nombre de mi Dios.

– Arise O God and Shine

COMMISSION | God Sends His People

Benediction: 

May God be gracious to us and bless us
    and make his face to shine upon us, Selah
that your way may be known on earth,
    your saving power among all nations.
Let the peoples praise you, O God;
    let all the peoples praise you! Psalm 67:1-3

Bendición:  

Dios nos tenga compasión y nos bendiga;
Dios haga resplandecer su rostro sobre nosotros,
para que se conozcan en la tierra sus caminos,
    y entre todas las naciones su salvación.
Que te alaben, oh Dios, los pueblos;
    que todos los pueblos te alaben.

– Doxology

Fellowship Meal / Convivio – Tex-Mex

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑