2nd Commandment

March 20 – Second Commandment / SC Qs 49-52

Q.49. Which is the second commandment? 

The second commandment is, You shall not make unto yourself any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me; and showing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments(Exod 20:4-6Deut 5:8-10).

Q.50. What is required in the second commandment? 

The second commandment require the receiving, observing, and keeping pure and entire, all such religious worship and ordinances as God has appointed in his Word (Deut 12:32; 32:46; Matt 28:20Acts 2:42).

Q.51. What is forbidden in the second commandment?

The second commandment forbids the worshiping of God by images (Deut 4:15-19Exod 32:5, 8Rom 1:22-23), or any other way not appointed in his Word (Lev 10:1-2Deut 12:31-32Jer 19:4-5Col 2:18).

Q.52. What are the reasons annexed to the second commandment?

The reasons annexed to the second commandment are, God’s sovereignty over us (Ps 95:2-3, 6; 96:9-10), his property in us (Exod 19:5Ps 45:11Isa 54:5), and the zeal he hath to his own worship (Exod 34:13-141 Cor 10:22).

Thought Questions for Discussion:

David Powlison has formulated some provocative questions to help us uncover what he calls our “functional saviors” (aka, counterfeit gods and idols). The following questions are based on them:

* What am I most afraid of?
* What do I long for most passionately?
* Where do I run for comfort?
* What do I complain about most?
* What angers me most?
* What makes me happiest?
* How do I explain myself to other people?
* What has caused me to be angry with God?
* What do I brag about?
* What do I want to have more than anything else?
* Who do I sacrifice the most for in my life?
* If I could change one thing in my life what would that be?
* Whose approval am I seeking?
* What do I want to control/master?
* What comfort do I treasure the most? 

“We think that idols are bad things, but that is almost never the case. The greater the good, the more likely we are to expect that it can satisfy our deepest needs and hopes. Anything can serve as a counterfeit god, especially the very best things in life.” – Tim Keller (Counterfeit Gods)

idol factory

 

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑